Home > Hub >







Hearthstone World Championships to Offer $250,000 in Prizes at BlizzCon 2014





Blizzard just posted the full list of rules and prizes for the Qualifier Tournaments  today. These tournements will weed out 4 players from each region from the the hundreds hopefuls that have performed well in Ranked Play from April to August. 

It looks to be a 2 phase tournament. Phase 1 matches each of these players against eachother based on past Ranked Play performance. The 16 players that do best in these matches will advance to Phase 2, which is a traditional swiss ladder style compitition, with the top 4 moving on to the Championships.

The players who progress will be provided with transportation and lodgings to attend BlizzCon 2014, where the Hearthstone World Championship will be held. Here these 16 players will compete for $250,000 in cash and prizes, complete with a $100,000 grand prize. 

As for the Championships, 

"The World Championships will be played in a best-of-five “Last Hero Standing” format, with 3 classes per player each match. In a “Last Hero Standing” format, when you lose a game, you must change the deck you are currently playing. Each player brings three decks and plays until one player wins three games."

It's not too late to get in on the action! Blizzard is looking at stats all the way til August, so start participating in Ranked Play and you could be on the road to BlizzCon 2014 and a whole lot of cash!

Details can be found below.
Originally Posted by Blizzard EntertainmentSource
The Hearthstone World Championship table has seats reserved for the best players in the world. Read the details and full rules for our Hearthstone Americas Qualifier Tournament here.
The Hearthstone World Championship will bring together some of Hearthstone’s best players from around the world for a climactic showdown at BlizzCon 2014! The Hearthstone World Championship will offer a total prize pool of $250,000, with the first place winner receiving a whopping $100,000!
Before that happens, there will be some friendly competition that will ultimately decide who will qualify to attend the Hearthstone World Championship with our Americas Qualifier Tournament. We’re ready to share the details of this tournament with you today!

How can I qualify for the Americas Qualifier Tournament?
There are a few ways to qualify. A total of 130 players will be participating in the Americas Qualifier Tournament:
  • Be a top 16 Legend player from Ranked Play in April, May, June, July, or August.
  • Top players from select community tournaments between April and August will be invited to participate in the Americas Qualifier Tournament. We will highlight those tournaments as well as how many qualifier spots are available in that tournament.
  • A Last Call Tournament will be held before the Americas Qualifier Tournament to determine any remaining qualifier spots, up to 130 participants. Players must be a resident of the countries noted below and must have achieved Legend rank on the Americas Ranked Play ladder at least one time between April and August. Players residing in these countries are eligible to participate in the Last Call Tournament for the Americas region: United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, and Chile.
  • Players cannot compete in multiple Qualifier Tournaments. If a player qualifies for multiple, they must choose one to compete in.
What can I expect at the Americas Qualifier Tournament?
The Americas Qualifier Tournament will have a total of 130 players and takes place in two phases. These 130 players will be matched against each other based on their cumulative placements in the Americas Ranked Play Rankings from April to August. The top 2 players with the highest cumulative placements will immediately advance to Phase 2 of the Tournament. Play your best each season!
All matches will follow a best of five “Last Hero Standing” format. Each player will bring three different decks to each match. If a deck is defeated during a game of the match, that player must change to a different deck for the next game of the match.
Phase 1 of the tournament will consist of “The Constructed Arena Phase.”
  • Players will be matched against each other in a Swiss format based on their initial seeding.
  • If a player loses three matches (not games) in Phase 1, that player will be eliminated from the tournament.
  • If a player ends a round of the Swiss format tournament with a +5 match record, that player will advance to Phase 2. (Match records are determined as Wins minus Losses. 5-0, 6-1, or 7-2 records are all considered +5 match records.)
Phase 2 of the tournament is the “Final Qualifying Round.”
  • In Phase 2 of the tournament, only 16 players will remain from the initial 130 participants.
  • Players will be randomly seeded into four tournament groups of four.
  • The top two players from each group are placed in an eight-player single elimination bracket. 

Hearthstone Qualifier Tournament Comprehensive Rules
Keep in mind that not all countries are eligible to participate in the Hearthstone World Championship or the Qualifier Tournaments. Please refer to the comprehensive rules below for a list of eligible countries.
For the comprehensive Americas Qualifier Tournament rules please go here.
For the European Qualifier Tournament rules please go here.
For the Taiwan Qualifier Tournament rules please go here
We’ll see you at the Americas Qualifier Tournament table. A seat is waiting for you!


Recent Articles / Hearthstone Hub / More Games Here
· BlizzCon 2014: Hearthstone World Championships
· Curse of Naxxramas: New Shaman Spell Card - Rebirth
· Hearthstone Fanart: Pitiful Rexxar after being Nerfed







What's New


What’s Hot

Path of Exile
go top